HICAP 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient Miguel Ko

Published June 2021

Miguel KoSINGAPORE – The Hotel Investment Conference Asia Pacific (HICAP) is pleased to announce that Miguel Ko, Chairman of CapitaLand, and Deputy Chairman of CLA Real Estate Holdings Pte. Ltd. (Ascendas-Singbridge), is the 2021 recipient of the HICAP Lifetime Achievement Award. Mr. Ko will be presented with the award at the 32nd annual HICAP, scheduled to be held 20-22 October 2021 at the Fairmont Singapore & Swissotel The Stamford. 

The HICAP Lifetime Achievement Award honors exceptional individuals who have distinguished themselves through their accomplishments and contributions to expanding, enhancing, and advancing the hotel industry in the Asia Pacific region and beyond.

“We’re delighted to present Mr. Ko with an award that recognizes his commitment to the real-estate sector, and specifically the hotel industry,” said Jeff Higley, President of The BHN Group, which operates the conference.  “Mr. Ko’s hotel career dates to the days of ITT Sheraton, and the companies he has led since then have experienced great success and growth because of his passion. His 2004 comment to Travel Weekly Asia is a perfect summary of why he is the recipient of this award ‘I love Asia, I love Singapore, I love the hotel business.’" 

Previously, Mr. Ko was the founding Group CEO of the former Ascendas-Singbridge until its combination with CapitaLand in 2019. Mr. Ko was also Chairman and President of Starwood Asia Pacific Hotels & Resorts. Prior to his appointment with Starwood, Mr. Ko was Deputy Chairman and CEO of CDL Hotels International. 

Between 1992 to 1999, Mr. Ko was President of Pepsi-Cola International, Asia Pacific, responsible for executing the soft drink giant's entry efforts into the emerging markets of China, Thailand, Indonesia, and Vietnam. 

Mr. Ko is widely recognized for his knowledge and insight into business and culture in Asia Pacific, particularly in the travel, leisure, and property development sectors. He was voted as Regional Hotel Chief of the Year 2007 and again in 2008 by the readers of Travel Weekly. He was the winner of the Visionary Leader of the Year in 2007, recipient of the 2007 Global Award at the World Travel Mart in London and honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2012 at the China Hotel Investment Conference in Shanghai. 

A native of Hong Kong and a naturalized Singapore citizen, Mr. Ko holds a B.A. in economics from the University of Massachusetts and a Master of Business Administration from Suffolk University. He is also a non-practicing Certified Public Accountant by the State Board of Accountancy in New Hampshire in the U.S. 

Mr. Ko's other previous board directorships included Ascendas Hospitality Fund Management Pte Ltd, Ascendas Hospitality Trust Management Pte Ltd, Ascendas Funds Management (S) Ltd, Changi Airport Group (Singapore) Pte Ltd, Samsonite International S.A, Merlin Entertainment PLC, Delta Topco Limited (Formula One), Surbana International Consultants Pte Ltd, Royal Orchid Hotel (Thailand) Public Company Ltd, Civil Aviation Authority Singapore, CDL Hotels Ltd/City e-Solutions Hong Kong, Millenium & Copthorne Plc, Amarin Plaza Company Ltd and Serm Suk (Pepsi-Cola) Bottler Ltd.

Prior recipients of the HICAP Lifetime Achievement Award, which is not presented each year, include: K.P. Ho, Chairman of Banyan Tree Hotels & Resorts; Anil Thadani, Chairman of Symphony Asia; Larry M.K. Tchou, Senior Advisor – Greater China for Hyatt Hotels & Resorts; William Heinecke, Founder & Chairman, Minor Group; Kwek Leng Beng, Executive Chairman, Hong Leong Group of Companies; Marilyn Carlson Nelson, Chairman, Carlson; The Honorable Sir Michael Kadoorie, Chairman, The Hongkong & Shanghai Hotels, Limited; Stephen F. Bollenbach, Co-Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Hilton Hotels Corporation; Kurt J. Wachtveitl, General Manager, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, Thailand; P.R.S. Oberoi, Chairman & CEO, Oberoi Hotels & Resorts; and Paul Dubrule, Co-Chairman and Founder, Accor.

For additional information on HICAP or the Lifetime Achievement Award, visit the website at www.HICAPconference.com.